All students educated in St Mary's Kenmure are supported and encouraged to work towards achieving National Qualifications certificated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA).

Students gain qualifications through the completion of National Units, which are qualifications in their own right. These units combine to form National Courses such as National 4, National 5 and Higher.


The progression of the award levels (up to level 6) is shown in the table below.

Levels in the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework
      SCQF level                  SQA National Units, Courses and Group Awards       
6 Higher
5 National 5
4 National 4
3 National 3
2 National 2
1 National 1


The purposes of education are for young people to become :

  • Successful learners
  • Confident individuals
  • Responsible citizens
  • Effective contributors


The Education Department works closely with external consultants and Care Staff in supporting the Educational and Social needs of the young people.

St Mary's Kenmure Education Department offers a wide range of subjects, including; English, Mathematics, Modern Studies, Geography, History, Information Communication Technology, Art, Home Economics, Personal and Social Education, Craft & Design and Physical Education. Individual tuition opportunities are also made available in other specialist curricular areas such as Music, Modern Languages, Trade Skills (Construction Skills) etc.



"A key-worker will develop, implement and support the integrated care and education plan for the young"